Indians vote in penultimate phase of general election

Voters in Delhi and elsewhere in India's north lined-up early on Sunday (May 12) to cast their ballots in the second-to-last round of a seven-phase general election, with the opposition seeking a united stand to deny Prime Minister Narendra Modi a second term.

Indian cricket team captain Virat Kohli came with his brother to vote in northern Gurugram. Former cricketer-turned politician, Gautam Gambhir, also came in to vote in his constituency in East Delhi. Foreign Minister, Sushma Swaraj, President of India, Ramnath Kovind, his wife, Savita Kovind, New Delhi chief Arvind Kejriwal, and many others also cast their votes in their respective constituencies.

More than 100 million people across seven states are eligible to vote in the sixth phase of the 39-day-long poll, which Modi began on April 11 as front-runner after an escalation of tension with neighbouring Pakistan.

But diverse opposition parties have recently taken heart at what they see as signs Modi’s Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) may be losing ground and have begun negotiations over a post-election alliance even before polling ends on May 19. Votes will be counted on May 23.

(Production: ANI/Masako Iijima)

Show More

Related Articles

Check Also